Review: Junk Mail by Kendall Ryan

junk mailTitle: Junk Mail

Author: Kendall Ryan

Year of publication: Out today! The author kindly gave me a copy to read and review

The heroine: Subscription box owner Peyton Richards

The hero: Wine company owner Josh Hanson

The blurb: It all started with a sexy selfie. Texted to the wrong number. Oops.

Not my finest moment—but I have nothing to be ashamed of. She thought I was no better, and I quote, than the knuckle-dragging douche-bags she was never dating again.

It was a stupid dare from a girl I’d met online, but since she’d given me a fake number, I didn’t feel bad that my interests were suddenly focused elsewhere—on the fiery and sharp-tongued, Peyton that I found myself sparring with over text for the rest of the evening.

The following day, my case of mistaken identity came back to bite me in the banana. When I strolled into the office, I was introduced to Peyton as the new client I needed to win over. The Peyton , in case you’re not tracking. And let’s just say she had my full attention.

Brains? Check. Beauty? Oh yeah. And the best part? She hated me on sight. Dear God, do I love a challenge. Let the games begin.

Standalone or series: Standalone.

The review: If I could give this book six stars, I would. I’ve read a lot of Kendall’s book and I think this one might just be my favourite.

Josh Hanson has been communicating with a woman on a dating app when she asks him for a photo of a certain appendage. He’s never sent one before, but he thinks what the hell. The response he gets, however, it not what he expects – the recipient has no idea who he is and why he’s sent her the photo.

Josh soon realises it’s a terrible mistake and is grateful he won’t run into the mysterious Peyton again… except he does, when she turns out to be a potential new client for his firm. He and his best friend have a wine company that is expanding rapidly, and Peyton has a gift box subscription company that would pair nicely with it.

When Josh and Peyton start working on the deal, it’s clear that they’re attracted to each other. Try as they might to keep their relationship professional, they can’t resist temptation. When Josh’s partner threatens to pull the deal after he realises Josh and Peyton have crossed the professional line, Josh takes drastic measures… and Peyton’s left feeling like she didn’t matter to Josh at all. Will Josh be able to explain and redeem himself? Will Peyton be able to forgive Josh for abandoning her? With supporting characters who will leave you in stitches, great one liners and a sweet but passionate romance you’ll get lost in, Kendall once again shows why she’s one of my favourite romance writers.

 

 

 

Leave a comment